YouTube allows users to adjust their privacy settings during the initial upload process, though these settings can also be modified at any time after the video is published. There are three ways videos can be listed on YouTube: public, private, and unlisted. Public videos can be viewed and shared by anyone, and will be visible on your channel. Private videos are visible only to you when signed into your YouTube account, or to select users you specifically chosen by you; they cannot be shared or embedded and will not show up in a YouTube search. Unlisted videos will not show up on your YouTube channel or in a YouTube search, but can be viewed and shared freely by anyone with the link.
On Facebook, you can control the privacy settings of your uploaded videos to change who can see your content by using the “audience selector” tool. These settings can be customized to allow access to as many or as few people as you want.
Vimeo also has complex privacy options. You can keep videos viewable only to yourself, to people you follow, only users selected by you, as well as making videos completely public or password-protected. Premium memberships have a few other settings available to them, including making a video available only to those with a private link and making a video invisible on Vimeo but visible when embedded on outside sites. Embedding and commenting have separate but more streamlined privacy settings, limited to “anywhere”/”anyone”, “nowhere”/”no one”, and “only where I choose”/”only people I follow”. However, keep in mind that the privacy settings of sub-channels will override the individual settings of a video, so if you have a video listed as private and you add it to another public channel, it will become public on that channel.